Just another WordPress.com site

Archive for May 12, 2011

CBS is doing good…

Having monitored the news closely because of the death of Osama bin Laden, I felt I must commend CBS on their coverage.  While I try to expose myself to all different forms of coverage (yes, I even tune into/read conservative/right-wing news outlets!) CBS always seems to play catch-up with all the other big names.

But, I’ve recently noticed that their articles have been really good as of late.  I don’t watch TV news all that much (except for The Daily Show and Colbert Report!) but I do have all the major and minor news on my Twitter.

Other than this lede which I find really awful, the article is good.  It’s the only word that does it full justice.  Good.

It’s very interesting as well.  Senator John McCain talks about the  tactics used by the military to get information out of Guantanamo Bay detainee Khalid Sheikh Mohammed.  Actually, I want to discuss something on that note.

Have you ever noticed that every article that discusses Guantanamo Bay never calls the people imprisoned behind its walls prisoners?  That’s right.

It’s because of the loophole that made the U.S get away with the torture tactics possible.  If the U.S didn’t call them prisoners, then they didn’t have the rights as a prisoner.  And also because most of them aren’t U.S citizens,  but foreign.  

Here’s the article, I think you’ll find it a good read.  And I think whether we know if this is 100% the case, that we did not torture Khalid Sheikh Mohammed will need a bit of hefty investigative reporting and perhaps a Wikileaks aid.

Published work this semester.

So despite my pitfalls, there were a couple of ‘wins’ this semester.  (Sorry, couldn’t fight the urge to add in that internet meme!)

As part of the J-school curriculum there is a class that manages a student-run online newspaper called The Little Rebellion.  I have had several of my photos featured, as well as a couple of articles (which I will state I am not as proud of, but happy that I have begun to start a collection of clippings).

You can view those here: My work published on The Little Rebellion

I was also lucky enough to get photos published on the Watershed Post.  My journalism professor invited these entrepreneurial journalists to our class to talk about the business of journalism, and the women also let our class know if we wanted to be published we could. 

I took a shot at it and ended up getting photos put on their site.  It’s a little reminder that hard work does pay off.  To see that post you can click here: My photos published on The Watershed Post

Infographics

http://www.stumbleupon.com/su/1aaA4F/www.good.is/post/infographic-school-cafeteria-food-vs-prison-food/?utm_source=supr

Ah, infrographics.

This semester my journalism professor could not express how much these were becoming more and more important.  I think this GOOD article is a great example on a successful infographic. 

It’s entertaining, gives insightful information, and all around answers the comparison between elementary school food and prison inmate food.

I especially like this one because it isn’t interactice.  Yes, that’s right ISN’T.  I feel some of the interactive infographics just confuse me and don’t make the connection as well.  When reading an article you expect the information to be laid out in front of you.  Clearly you would want the same for an infographic.   In my future endeavors with infographics I’ll have to keep the simplistic but effective ideals on hand rather than elaborate schemes.